Sunday, July 13, 2014

RIP Lorin Maazel

In this video clip the late Maestro Lorin Maazel conducts the World Philharmonic Orchestra is the last part of Villa-Lobos's Choros no. 6. As far as I know this is Maazel's only recording of Villa-Lobos.

This performance is available on a CD that also includes the Firebird Suite and Berlioz's Carnaval Overture.

Sunday, July 6, 2014

Guitar Concerto from Philly

Pablo Sainz Villegas plays the Villa-Lobos Guitar Concerto, with the Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia, conducted by James Judd. This concert is from November 2013.

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

OSESP a Prêmio da Música Brasileira winner

The 25th Annual Prêmio da Música Brasileira (Brazilian Music Awards) were held recently in Rio de Janeiro's Theatro Municipal. Winner of the Classical Album award was the Sao Paulo Symphony Orchestra (OSESP), for their Naxos disc of the Villa-Lobos Symphonies no. 6 & 7.  Excellent choice!

Thursday, June 12, 2014

World Cup

"Villa-Lobos found that his concerts were often poorly attended because of the public's preference for soccer, this led him to denounce the sport violently. One of his phrases became famous: 'Soccer causes human intelligence to detour from the head to the feet!' The Brazilian soccer fans responded vigorously to the challenge. In one town they bombarded the touring musicians with rotten eggs, and the threat of similar treatment caused the group to leave another town in the early morning hours."

David E. Vassberg, "Villa-Lobos as Pedagogue: Music in the Service of the State," Journal of Research in Music Education, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Autumn, 1975), p. 165

No matter what Villa-Lobos thought about the game, I'm cheering big for A Seleçao!

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

New CD from Julien Labro & the Spektral Quartet

The new Azica CD From This Point Forward featuring the Spektral Quartet and accordionist Julien Labro will be released on June 24. The repertoire includes Labro's arrangement of Villa-Lobos's Sentimental Melody and Veleiros (from Forest of the Amazon), along with pieces by Piazzolla, Barrios, Pascoal, Saluzzi, Zenon, Schissi, Otero and Grenet. Labro and the Quartet were featured on the NPR station WBEZ's Morning Shift, which you can listen to here. They play Sentimental Melody at 11:35.

Friday, May 9, 2014

Momoprecoce, from the 2012 Proms

Nelson Freire plays piano, and Marin Alsop conducts OSESP, in this video from an August 2012 Proms concert. Momoprecoce is a fun pastiche that Villa-Lobos put together from his Carnaval das crianças for solo piano.

Saturday, May 3, 2014

RNZ Composer of the Week

A superb radio program from Radio New Zealand: Thomas Goss presents Villa-Lobos's music in the context of the birth of Brazilian modernism. Villa's masterpieces of the 1920s are illuminated by Mario de Andrade's amazing poetry.  This can be streamed on demand, but hurry up and listen; I'm not sure how long it will be available.

Monday, April 28, 2014

Four Bachianas Brasileiras from A Grande Música

This episode of A Grande Música from TV Brasil includes the following Villa-Lobos performances:
  • Introduction: José Schiller 
  • 3:20 Bachianas Brasileiras #6, with Marcelo Bonfim, flute and Elione Medeiros, bassoon
  • 13:00 Bachianas Brasileiras #9, with Isaac Karabtchevsky conducting the Orquestra Petrobrás Sinfônica
  • 21:45 Bachianas Brasileiras #5, with soprano Veruschka Mainhard, and Ricardo Rocha conducting an orchestra of cellos
  • 33:45 Bachianas Brasileiras #2, with cellist Antonio Meneses and Cristina Ortiz

The Villa-Lobos Experience in New York

The Association of Classical Dominican Artists in New York City will present a musical event that brings together the Dominican and Brazilian communities of New York City: "The Villa Lobos Experience", to take place on Monday May 12 at 7 PM at the Aaron Davis Hall of The City College of New York, located at 135th Street and Covent Avenue. The event is free, but reservations are required.

For more information, please see  To register for "The Villa-Lobos Experience" please proceed to our Eventbrite link: 

Arguably the best classical composer from South America, Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887-1959) wrote works that not only incorporate his native and folk Afro music, but also style elements from classicism, impressionism and the baroque. "The Villa-Lobos Experience" is a collaboration of both Dominican, Brazlian and American visual artists and classical musicians living in New York City.

Rarely heard works will performed in the program, including
  • O Canto Do Cysne Negro (poem-Dance-Mime) Extract from Symphonic Poem Naufragio de Klinikos arr. For cello and harp by Dewy Owens 
  • Lent from Fantasia arr. for Saxophone, viola, cello and harp by Pedro Vizzarro 
  • Bachianas Brasileiras No 5 
  • Choros #2 for Flute and Clarinet 
  • Assobio a Jato (The Jet Whistle) for Flute and Cello (12 Minutes) 
  • Quartour Symbolic for Harp, Celesta, flute, et Saxophone alto in Eb with female voices 
  • Sexteto Mistico for Flute, Oboe, Saxophone alto in Eb, Guitar, Celesta, and Harp 
Mission of the Association of Dominican Classical Artists: To foster appreciation for Dominican art and folkloric music in the United States; create performance space for our artist members; and, bring our music to communities with little or no access to live performances. We accomplish our mission by presenting concerts and educational programs.

General Information The Association of Dominican Classical Artists was founded in 1980 by artists and composers of Dominican descent living in New York City.